Bandai 1/20 VOTOMS ATM-09-GC Brutishdog “Phantom Lady Custom”   Leave a comment

In Armored Troopers: VOTOMS (Vertical One-man Tank for Offensive Maneuvers), Fyana is the early show antagonist and mysterious Phantom Lady, who pilots the powerful Brutishdog custom machine.  The Brutishdog is a fearsome design, armed with its massive rotary cannon and brutal shearing claw, with an upgraded roller dash system for enhanced speed and maneuverability.

I finished this kit about a year ago and somehow never got around to photographing it (and a companion piece to come later).  I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with the excellent Bandai 1/20 VOTOMS plamo kits.  On one hand, they are the most detailed and best articulated VOTOMS kits ever produced, but at the same time, they have a dearth of moving parts and are a bit delicate when painted up without care.  I have broken a couple of the armor flaps after handling this kit for a year, but it is still one of my favorite models, and the kit really is solid, even if there is a large amount of stuff on the kit that got painted and will never be seen again on the interior and structural skeleton.

The regular pink and off-white Brutishdog has always seemed a bit boring to me, so I wanted to spice up the design with this kit.  I added a two-tone pink disruptive scheme to add some interest, along with a large number of decals and some really controlled weathering to depict Fyana in her element, blowing up machines and roller-dashing rings around her enemies.  If I ever get around to detailing up my Yamato 1/12 Brutishdog, I will finish it the exact same way.

Posted December 29, 2009 by Prometheum5 in Armored Trooper VOTOMS, Mecha

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a comment